Skip to content

Frozendale

December 14, 2014

A recent review of a book I illustrated, referred to me as “renowned” children’s book author/illustrator, Dave Horowitz.

Well, I don’t know about all that. But reflecting back as one does while driving to work at 4:30 in the morning, I recalled there are two words out there in the world, which I coined. I figured I should post them, here on the internet, for all perpetuity.

NUMBER 1: FROZENDALE (FRO-zen-dale) n. A winter street festival, in the wacky, small, upstate town of Rosendale, New York.

AR-131209739.jpg&MaxW=650

photo: PHILIP KAMRASS/For the Times Herald-Record

I inadvertently named this festival back when I was living on main street, in Rosendale. I was b.s.-ing with a then local business owner, about the poor state of the local economy, and this new upcoming street festival they were planning, tentatively called Winter-Fest.

I was being cynical when I said. “Who the hell has a street festival in the dead of winter…?”

It was probably about 2º that day. “They shouldn’t call it Winter-Fest… they should call it… F-F-Frozendale.

The name stuck, and so did the festival: Frozendale celebrated it’s 9th year yesterday.

•  •  •

NUMBER 2: THE MILLENIUM HILTON (the mil-EN-ee-um HIL-ton) n. A big, shiny hotel in downtown NYC.

800px-Millenium-Hilton-Entrance

Many, many, MANY, years ago—in the early 1990s—I had an internship at an advertising agency in New York City. They had a client who was putting up a new hotel. The task for us eager, young dummies working for no pay, or glory, was to come up with names for this new hotel.

The only direction they gave us was to come up with a list of names that meant big, huge or colossal.

My name, Millenium, got picked. But you won’t read about my contribution on wikipedia. You will, however, read this:

The hotel’s builder chose to intentionally misspell the name with one “n” as “Millenium” on the outdoor signage and official literature, even though the correct spelling of the English word is “millennium“, in order to make the name more distinctive.

Oh, really? More likely, no one noticed that I spelled it wrong: Milennium, Millinnium, I still can’t spell the damn word right without auto-correct.

• • •

Anyhow, only time will tell if I am truly to be renowned as an author/illustrator. But the universe has already spoken that I am at least famous for my cynicism and sucky spelling.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

