Skip to content

A Monkey Among Us

March 14, 2013

In the beginning of this millennium I was a climbing guide for Eastern Mountain Sports in the Shawangunks of NY. It was the happiest I’d ever been. But then the Twin Towers came down and shit got a little nutty. The guiding life was getting old—and so was I. I decided to make one more attempt at breaking into publishing.

I spent the winter of 2001/2002 making a book called A Monkey Among Us. It was a modern day nursery rhyme I came up, and I was sure I could sell it.

monkey.jkt

I had gone against conventional wisdom and just made the damn thing (or at least the first 4/5ths of it), so publishers could see exactly what it would be. Let that be the lesson in this post!

Somehow with luck, timing and a great deal of naivete, I landed a deal with HarperCollins.

It’s now ten years later and I see the only way of making a living dumber than rock climbing, is to be an artist (See the post Seven Things I’ve learned so Far).

But whatever … we don’t do it for the money as they say (God they love to say that!). So without further ado I am hereby posting A Monkey Among Us in it’s entirety, starting with the first five spreads.

monkey.among.us.mech.02

monkey.among.us.mech.02

monkey.among.us.mech.02

monkey.among.us.mech.02

monkey.among.us.mech.02 

To be continued …

If by any chance you wish to support the arts me, you can purchase the eBook right now. It’s only $2.99 and unlike with traditional books, most of the profits will actual get to me. (If you don’t, I might have to go back to work in the mountains—if my harness will even still fit!).

2 Comments
  1. A modern classic, that…

  2. Thanks bro! (and thanks for the new Bowie).

Leave a Reply

